Ukraine: EU sanctions over territorial integrity prolonged for six months

Photo: European Union
Photo: European Union

On 10 September, the Council of the European Union prolonged the sanctions targeting those responsible for undermining or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty, and independence of Ukraine for a further six months until 15 March 2022.

The existing restrictive measures provide for travel restrictions, the freezing of assets, and a ban on making funds or other economic resources available to the listed persons and entities. Sanctions will continue to apply to 177 individuals and 48 entities.

Restrictive measures in respect of actions undermining or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine were first introduced on 17 March 2014.

Other EU measures implemented in response to the crisis in Ukraine include economic sanctions targeting specific sectors of the Russian economy, currently in place until 31 January 2022, and restrictive measures in response to the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol, limited to the territory of Crimea and Sevastopol and currently in place until 23 June 2022.

The list of sanctioned persons and entities are regularly reviewed and renewed by the Council.

Find out more

Press release